Department Leadership

Azita Hamedani, MD, MPH, MBA

The Distinguished Wisconsin Endowed Chair of Emergency Medicine

Katy Oksuita, MS

Chief Administrative Officer

Vice Chairs

Ciara Barclay-Buchanan, MD

Vice Chair of Clinical Operations

Manish Shah, MD, MPH

Vice Chair of Research

Mary Westergaard, MD

Vice Chair of Education

Andrea Gilmore-Bykovskyi, PhD, RN

Deputy Director, UW Center for Health Disparities Research

Medical Directors

Andrew Cathers, MD

Medical Director,
UW Health Med Flight

Joshua Gauger, MD, MBA

Medical Director,
University Hospital

Irene (Allie) Hurst, MD, MS

Medical Director,
Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Collin Michels, MD

Service Chief,
Veterans Hospital

Daniel Rutz, MD

Medical Director,
East Madison Hospital

Educational Program Directors

Aaron Kraut, MD

Residency Program Director

David Tillman, MD

Director of Medical Student Education

Division Leads

Sara Damewood, MD

Emergency Ultrasound

Joshua Glazer, MD

Critical Care Medicine

Michelle Hughes, MD

Medical Simulation

Michael Lohmeier, MD

Emergency Medical Services

Jessica Schmidt, MD, MPH

Global Health