Faculty & Fellows


Department Chair

Manish Shah, MD, MPH

Email: mnshah@medicine.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-9174

The Azita G. Hamedani Distinguished Chair of Emergency Medicine

Founding Chair

Azita Hamedani, MD, MPH, MBA

Email: agh@medicine.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-9091

The Wisconsin Endowed Chair of Leadership in Emergency Medicine

Department Vice Chairs

Ciara Barclay-Buchanan, MD

Email: cbb@medicine.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-7567

Vice Chair of Clinical Operations

Andrea Gilmore-Bykovskyi, PhD, RN

Email: algilmore@medicine.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-3057

Associate Vice Chair of Research

Mary Westergaard, MD

Email: mcwester@medicine.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-0165

Vice Chair of Education

Institutional Leadership

Joshua Ross, MD

Email: jcross@medicine.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-5685

Chief Medical Officer,
American Family Children’s Hospital
& UW Health Kids

Jeffrey Pothof, MD

Email: jpothof@uwhealth.org

Phone: (608) 265-1744

Chief Quality Officer,
UW Health

Jamie Hess, MD

Email: jmhess@medicine.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-9724

UW Medical Foundation

Brian Sharp, MD

Email: bsharp@medicine.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-9196

Patient Safety Officer,
UW Health

Nicholas Kuehnel, MD

Email: nkuehnel@medicine.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-7019

Medical Director for Quality & Safety,
UW Health Kids

Andrew Cathers, MD

Email: acathers@medicine.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-2212

Medical Director,
UW Health Med Flight