Division Faculty

Division Director

Sarah Damewood, MDSara Damewood, MD
Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine
Director, Advanced Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship
Physician Lead, Coding, Billing, and Documentation

Dr. Damewood is recognized as a leader in the clinical ultrasound community, both nationally and at UW. She oversees all aspects of ultrasound operations and education for all levels of learners at the Department of Emergency Medicine. Under her leadership, significant advances in archiving and reviewing clinical ultrasound images have led to improved ED patient care. She developed a clinical ultrasound fellowship in 2014, with graduating fellows into academic faculty and ultrasound leaders in community EDs. She was instrumental in the rollout of ultrasound for UW Health Med Flight providers, and also initiated a longitudinal research project exploring cardiopulmonary ultrasound findings in septic shock in collaboration with the UW Department of Medicine’s Division of Pulmonary Critical Care. She is currently involved in projects with ultrasound assessing aspiration pneumonia, 3D printing models, and prehospital care. Her interests within ultrasound include simulation, measuring ultrasound competency, and fellowship education.

Faculty & Fellows

Jamie Hess, MD

Credentials: Associate Professor (CHS)

Hani Kuttab, MD

Credentials: Assistant Professor (CHS)

Dana Resop, MD

Credentials: Clinical Associate Professor

Jessica Schmidt, MD, MPH

Credentials: Associate Professor (CHS)

Matthew VandeHei, MD

Credentials: Clinical Assistant Professor

External Leadership Positions

Sara Damewood, MD
• Chair, Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship Accreditation Council (EUFAC)
• Co-chair, ACEP ultrasound section simulation subcommittee
• Prior chair, Society of Clinical Ultrasound Fellowships program development committee

Jessica Schmidt, MD, MPH
• Co-chair, ACEP ultrasound section global ultrasound subcommittee
• Membership chair, AIUM global community of practice

Dana Resop, MD
• Past Treasurer, Wisconsin chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians

Jamie Hess, MD
• Director of Quality, Patient Safety, & Interprofessional Education, UW SMPH
• President, UW Medical Foundation
• Vice Chair, UW Medical Foundation Board of Directors
• Chair of Council of Faculty, UW Health
• Secretary/Treasurer, UW Health Medical Board
• Chair, UW SMPH Student Promotions and Review Committee

Hani Kuttab, MD
• Medical Director, East Madison Hospital ED
• Head of audio production, Ultrasound G.E.L. podcast

Faculty Scholarship

Sara Damewood, MD – view all publications

Jamie Hess, MD – view all publications

Hani Kuttab, MD – view all publications

Dana Resop, MD – view all publications

Jessica Schmidt, MD, MPH – view all publications