Chief emergency medicine residents announced for 2024-25 academic year

Chief emergency medicine residents for the 2024-2025 academic year, starting July 1, 2024. From left to right, portrait files are displayed for Drs. Leah Anderson, Grace Care, and Sam Wing.

Congratulations to the following PGY-2 emergency medicine residents who have been named as chief residents for the upcoming academic year:

  • Leah Anderson, MD
  • Grace Carey, MD
  • Sam Wing, MD, MS

Chief residents are elected by department faculty and co-residents, with the final decision made by the Program Director. During their final year of residency, chiefs work closely with program directors to facilitate all aspects of the administration of the residency program, such as educational planning, recruitment, and resident well-being, as well as serving as mentors to advise and advocate for their peers. This demanding position prepares residents for leadership roles in emergency medicine.

“I am confident that their dedication to service and investment in their peers will ensure that our program continues to thrive in the coming academic year,” says Aaron Kraut, MD, residency program director.

Learn more about our three-year emergency medicine residency program, which is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).