Department Emergency Medicine faculty, learners inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society

Congratulations to Dr. Brian Sharp, associate professor of emergency medicine and patient safety officer, UW Health, and Dr. Jennifer Mirrieleess, second-year emergency medicine resident, on their nomination and acceptance to the prestigious Alpha Omega Alpha medical honor society, which recognizes individuals for their excellence in scholarship, professionalism, leadership, and teaching.

The Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) medical honor society is a professional medical organization that recognizes and advocates for excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals in the profession of medicine. Founded in 1902, it’s the only national honor medical society in the world.

Two medical students at the UW School of Medicine and Public Health who are headed to emergency medicine residencies this summer were also inducted into the medical honor society: Anna Heffron and Katherine Smith.

“Be worthy to serve the suffering.”
— William W. Root, MD, AOA Founder, 1902

All four individuals were inducted into the class of 2022 at the annual AOA Banquet and Induction Ceremony on Wednesday, April 6, 2022.