Gilmore-Bykovskyi Lab: Our Team

Principal Investigator

Andrea Gilmore Bykovskyi

Andrea Gilmore-Bykovskyi, PhD, RN

algilmore@medicine.wisc.edu

Dr. Gilmore-Bykovskyi leads an independently funded program of research focused on promoting effective, meaningful, and equitable care and research for people living with and at risk for Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias. Her goal is to identify and effectively intervene on structural and health system barriers to optimal ADRD-specific care and patient/caregiver-centered outcomes. Much of her research has focused on addressing these priorities among vulnerable populations at high-risk points in the health and care continuum, such as during and after emergency department care and hospitalization and in advanced disease stages. Dr. Gilmore-Bykovskyi has led advances in ADRD health services research that have stewarded new areas of investigation surrounding ADRD-specific care delivery patterns and outcomes and established frameworks to advance research equity and inclusion. She has coauthored over 80 publications and led numerous NIH and foundation-funded projects. Her recent work focuses on identifying and characterizing episodes of paradoxical lucidity in people living with advanced ADRD near end of life.

Dr. Gilmore-Bykovskyi also serves as Associate Vice Chair for Research in the Department of Emergency Medicine and founding Deputy Director of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Health Disparities Research (CHDR). She also contributes to the National Institute on Aging-funded Wisconsin Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center (ADRC) Care as Informatics Lead and Investigator for the Care Research Core.

Lab Staff

Clark Benson

Email: cbenson5@wisc.edu

Assistant Lab Manager

Meghan Botsch

Email: mbotsch@wisc.edu

Graduate Research Assistant

Kayla Dillon

Email: kedillon@wisc.edu

Research Specialist

Jess Fehland

Email: fehland@wisc.edu

Research Specialist

Lilli Kay

Email: lkay3@wisc.edu

Graduate Research Assistant

Jessi Kendall, RN

Email: jessicaevans@wisc.edu

Outreach/Engagement Liaison

Morgan Schmit

Email: mlschmit@wisc.edu

Undergraduate Research Assistant